All you need to know about IT Service management:

The ITSM Encyclopedia

Coming soon: The complete ITIL Foundation Course to download to your own PC


Your independent source of ITSM information.

Copyright © 2007
All rights reserved. Certification.Info
The contents of this subportal of published by the Quintica Group
> Home > Contact > About > ITIL > SQMF

The CCTA - Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency

The CCTA is widely recognized as having created the first version of ITIL. The original title was a lengthy one "Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management Methodology" (GITMM). The GITMM developed into 31 volumes.

April 2001 saw the CCTA merge with the OGC (Office of Government Commerce). The OGC is an branch of the United Kingdom's Treasury and it is quite likely that seeing the commercial value of ITIL(r) the Treasury were very keen to become involved.