All you need to know about IT Service management:

The ITSM Encyclopedia

Coming soon: The complete ITIL Foundation Course to download to your own PC


Your independent source of ITSM information.

Copyright © 2007
All rights reserved. Certification.Info
The contents of this subportal of published by the Quintica Group
> Home > Contact > About > ITIL > SQMF


CMM is an acronym for Capability Maturity Model.

CMM like ITIL is a process improvement framework that has its origins as far back as the mid-1980s.

The framework was developed by the Software Engineering Institute Carnegie Mellon University. CMM is best known for its 5 levels of maturity relating to process effectiveness and efficiency.

Level 1 Initial
Level 2 Repeatable
Level 3 Defined
Level 4 Quantitatively Management
Level 5 Optimizing

Although initially developed specifically for the software development industry the maturity level scheme has been adopted and reworked and is often seen in maturity analysis work for IT support processes (ITIL).