All you need to know about IT Service management:

The ITSM Encyclopedia

Coming soon: The complete ITIL Foundation Course to download to your own PC


Your independent source of ITSM information.

Copyright © 2007
All rights reserved. Certification.Info
The contents of this subportal of published by the Quintica Group
Examination Institute
> Home > Contact > About > ITIL > SQMF

Examination Institute

Examination Institutes (EIs) is the name given to organizations that have been officially accepted as providers of ITIL based certification exams and marking services.

The "official" accreditor - the APM Group (APMG) is the first Examination Institute; appointed by the OGC (Office of Government Commerce) when they awarded APMG contract for managing all ITIL based certification in 2006. The APM Group took over the role from Exin and ISEB who have to now have an agreement with APMG in order to offer ITIL based exams.

All EIs are subject to working to the guidelines as set down by the APM Group in their capacity as the official accreditor. Some EIs are looking to develop non-ITIL based certification schemes; naming their programs "IT Service Management (ITSM)", rather than ITIL.

The Examination Institutes work with Accredited Training Organizations (ATOs); who offer accredited training services. Offical ATOs are listed on the EI web site and are permitted to display logos that signify their official capacity as accredited trainers.

ATOs that do not display these logos or are not listed on the official ITIL web site for certification are in breach of the copyright of the ITIL framework.