All you need to know about IT Service management:

The ITSM Encyclopedia

Coming soon: The complete ITIL Foundation Course to download to your own PC


Your independent source of ITSM information.

Copyright © 2007
All rights reserved. Certification.Info
The contents of this subportal of published by the Quintica Group
ITIL Exams
> Home > Contact > About > ITIL > SQMF

ITIL Exams

ITIL Exams for the ITIL framework are undergoing some major changes. The launch of ITIL version 3 has sparked an overhaul of the examination process.

There are essentially two methods for taking ITIL based ITIL Exams. Paper based and electronic.

Paper based ITIL Exams can be taken in any of the ITIL certification levels. Paper based ITIL Exams are sent to the Accredited Training Organization (ATO) and from there sent to the Examination Institute (EI) for marking.

Electronic ITIL Exams can (at time of writing) be only taken for lower level certification (Foundations). Electronic ITIL Exams can be taken via a PC directly into the EI certification system (when booked via an ATO) OR they can be taken at a Prometric or Vue testing centre. You need to check with your ATO about their EI examination options.

Foundation level ITIL Exams are typically 40 question, multiple choice, with a required pass mark of 65% (26/40).

There is discussion that the ITIL version 3 ITIL Exams will all be available electronically (with potentially ALL ITIL Exams reverting to a multiple choice format).

The current Managers exam offered by any Examination Institute is based on a case study. The ITIL v2 Managers requires a pass to be obtained in both the Service Support and the Service Delivery module.

Each exam is a 3 hour exam, with a pass mark of 50% for Exin and ISEB and 55% for APMG.