All you need to know about IT Service management:

The ITSM Encyclopedia

Coming soon: The complete ITIL Foundation Course to download to your own PC


Your independent source of ITSM information.

Copyright © 2007
All rights reserved. Certification.Info
The contents of this subportal of published by the Quintica Group
> Home > Contact > About > ITIL > SQMF


Capability Maturity Model for Integration (CMMI) focuses on development and maintenance activities of a product or service of its lifecycle.

CMMI for Development is the latest CMMI framework (released in 2006). The framework aims to improve an organizations processes; but specifically the processes associated with the development, purchase and maintenance of products and services.

The processes define procedures and goals for an effective process. CMMI defines two areas of organizational levels where processes can be defined.

Firstly “staged representation” where there are 5 levels of maturity and each level represents a level of capability in managing projects. Secondly, “continuous representation”, where specific process areas are assessed as either being incomplete, performed, managed, defined, quantitatively managed or optimizing.